194

depcom.194.col.400px

Read at depression comix at http://wp.me/s3zYhM-194

3 thoughts on “194

  1. Reblogged this on Bipolar For Life and commented:
    Clay’s comic rings all kinds of bells.
    Speaking from my experience as a bullied depressed suicidal child, I suspect that most bullying starts at home. It did in mine. The bullied child is the scapegoat. His or her self-image is formed practically in the womb (I have my theories about that), or at least in the pre-verbal period. S/he has no words to describe herself apart from what he has been told: **you’re worthless, you’re useless, you can’t ever do anything right, why can’t you be more like your sister/brother** et cetera. S/he’s a sitting duck at school, for all the reasons Clay illustrates here.

  2. Thank you, Clay. Your comic rings all kinds of bells. I really appreciate the references, too.

    Speaking from my experience as a bullied depressed suicidal child, I suspect that most bullying starts at home. It did in mine. The bullied child is the scapegoat. His or her self-image is formed practically in the womb (I have my theories about that), or at least in the pre-verbal period. S/he has no words to describe herself apart from what he has been told: **you’re worthless, you’re useless, you can’t ever do anything right, why can’t you be more like your sister/brother** et cetera. S/he’s a sitting duck at school, for all the reasons you illustrate here.

    Reblogging.

  3. I was both, for me it started around first grade. I was a normal child yet my curiosity with everything, everyone, not staying in my seat and interrupting the teacher gave a different impression. If anyone had known to look closer they would seen signs of child abuse as early as kindergarden. By 6th grade I was bullied, beaten up and had a reputation for things I didn’t know about yet. I was also a bully, leaving a huge bottle of mouthwash in someone’s locker, cussing like a sailor and already a drug user. The wheel goes round.

Leave a Reply

