284

depcom.284.col.400px

Read at depression comix at http://wp.me/s3zYhM-284

18 thoughts on “284

  1. This one really resonated with me. Growing up I think I somehow internalized an idea that artists are supposed to be depressed. But it’s much harder for me to make art when I’m depressed. And feeling like I failed at an art work becomes devastating when I depressed. So the stakes are higher during those times and then my fear is greater which leads to little or no art-making.

  2. Literally me.

    I’m really glad these comics exist. It’s too exhausting to keep explaining this stuff to people over and over. I can just direct people here ( and to Allie Brosh’s pieces on depression) instead. Thankyou.

  3. Reblogged this on Mein Traum vom eigenen Buch and commented:
    Wie sagt man so schön auf englisch: Been there, done that. Eigentlich gehe ich nicht mit meiner Erkrankung hausieren. Aber dieser Comicstrip trifft den Nagel einfach so auf den Kopf, dass ich ihn rebloggen MUSSTE!

    Und wie ich gerade schon twitterte: Es ist schwer, da durchzukommen. Aber es IST möglich! Und Rückschläge ändern nichts daran!

    Auch deswegen träume ich diesen Traum!

  4. I’ve been having this exact experience off and on with my writing. So has one of my best friends. Luckily we have each have the other to remind us that our brains are lying to us because depression, so it makes it a little easier to keep trying. I think this may be one of the reasons I’ve been focusing on poetry, though, instead of working as much on my novels. :/

  5. This hits close to home for me. I just had someone ask me if I still play my guitar and when I told them I hadn’t been for quite sometime they were shocked. I sense have picked it up once or twice and enjoyed doing so, however I notice a slack where passion use to be and fear now reigns.

  6. I can relate to this. completely. its one of the reason why I stopped writing. but I’m working on it now and I’ve been on a roll for the past month! posting stories every other week.

Leave a Reply

