294

depcom.294.col.400px

Read at depression comix at http://wp.me/s3zYhM-294

5 thoughts on “294

  1. Sigh…I’ve heard this sort of “helpful advice” so many times, and from people who should know better, like other docs…One of my good friends died of it. He felt ashamed to ask for time off to go see a psychiatrist. Maybe that’s why the suicide rate among physicians is so high…we’re not allowed to be vulnerable like the people we treat.

    1. I agree it sucks because people act like mental illness doesn’t exist and it does. They think you’re making it up or you’re just lazy and don’t want to do anything. It’s hard because people can’t help it if they are depressed ta literally in their brain so this ” advice ” doesn’t work.

  2. I just started my blog a few days ago, where I could finally be open and honest about what I’m going through. I told a friend about it and this is pretty much word for word what he said to me. Some people just don’t understand, but I hope that more and more people start talking about what they’re going through so others can begin to understand.

  3. Yep. It’s bad enough for me, a woman, to try to reach out to people regarding my experiences. I can only imagine what it’d be like for men, who are brainwashed since childhood to believe that any sort of vulnerability is “unmanly”. It’s SO damaging, and i’m constantly maddened by people who don’t seem to see how the perpetuation of rigid gender stereotypes is TOXIC – to mental health, to personal growth, and to human society in general.

  4. This is entirely true especially in my vicinity. People mare under the general assumption that counseling means you are mentally insane. I believe everyone could benefit from counseling.

Leave a Reply

